Aaron Hernandez is in prison without being convicted.

Bristol County Sheriff Thomas M. Hodgson did a couple interviews with ESPN within the last few days, and in one of them said something that blew my mind.

He was very clear: Aaron Hernandez was in prison, and that there was going to be an adjustment period for him. Hodgson went on to say that there were no TVs, weights or any entertainment at his prison. There are four walls.

Which is fine, I guess. I don’t really have an opinion on prison systems and how they should be ran. I am a 21 year old college student that’s biggest run in with the law was being pulled over for forgetting to turn on my headlights at dusk.

However, he continued to say that Hernandez will have only a couple options in his cell. Sit on his bed or lay on his bed for 23 hours. He gets to choose!

That’s when I started thinking, “Ah, wait. He has not been convicted of anything yet.” Hernandez is serving out a sentience of a month in prison because he has been accused of something. And not only is he behind bars, but he is basically in Hell. I know I would go mad.

I don’t think that he should be allowed to go home. However, I think giving the guy a TV and sometime out of his cell would be right. I thought he was sent to the facility to make sure that he does not run away, not to start serving a sentience.

Now, when he is convicted (which seems to be the consensus at least for right now) then anything goes I guess.

This entry was posted in National Football League, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

